About NOSA


The mission of the National Oil Shale Association (NOSA) is to educate the public about oil shale in the United States. The Association was formed in the 1970’s when it actively engaged in oil shale education.

NOSA was reinstated in 2007 in response to a renewed interest in oil shale.

The members of the Board of Directors of NOSA have extensive experience in oil shale and energy development. The Chairman is Roger Day. Its Executive Director is Brad McCloud. It’s sustaining members include firms developing oil shale in Colorado and Utah.

There are two classes of membership: Sustaining and Associate Members. Sustaining Members are profit making firms and Associate Members are individuals and non-profit groups.

Copies of an application form and Bylaws are attached.
NOSA Welcomes New Members
Download NOSA Application form here as an Adobe PDF:  Application-Form
Download the bylaws of the National Oil Shale Association a Colorado Nonprofit Corporation

2017 Board of Directors

Ed Cooley (Chairman), ERTL Inc., Rifle, CO
Adolph Lechtenberger, Red Leaf Resources, Salt Lake City, UT
Justin Bilyeu, Shale Tech International Services, Rifle, CO
Ben Romney, Wheeler Machinery, Salt Lake City, UT
Chuck Whiteman, TerraCarta Energy Resources, Meeker, CO
Roger Day (Immediate Past Chairman), Independent Consultant, Rifle, CO
Glenn Vawter, ATP Services, Glenwood Springs, CO (Honorary Director)

The Board has appointed the following officers for 2017:
Gary Aho, Sage Geotech, Rifle, CO is the Executive Director
Deena Stanley, Shale Tech International Services, Rifle, CO is the Secretary/Treasurer